Moment 91 Enshrinement Of Excellence

Enshrinement of Excellence
Photo credit: Green Bay Press-Gazette
Back to Moments
July 31, 1971

Vince Lombardi is posthumously inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Four of his players – Jim Taylor, Forrest Gregg, Bart Starr and Ray Nitschke – are inducted by the end of the decade, the start of what is now 12 Lombardi Packers enshrined in Canton, the latest being Jerry Kramer, who waited 50 years after his retirement to be inducted.

Lombardi was inducted into Canton before any of his players were. From there, Taylor in ’76, Gregg and Starr in ’77 and Nitschke in ’78 started a run that added three more players in a span of just two years, with Herb Adderley in ’80 and Willie Davis and Jim Ringo in ’81.

They were followed by Paul Hornung in ’86, Willie Wood in ’89, Henry Jordan in ’95, Dave Robinson in ’13 and Kramer this year. The last three were selected as senior committee nominees, a process that revives the candidacy of players who might have been overlooked during the traditional process.

The Lombardi Packers, including the coach himself, still account for more than half of all the Hall of Famers the Packers claim as their own (13 of 25).