Moment 61 Hitting The Jackpot

Moment 61
Back to Moments
December 02, 1957

The 1958 NFL Draft becomes the greatest in team history and one of the greatest in league history with the selections of linebacker Dan Currie, fullback Jim Taylor, linebacker Ray Nitschke and guard Jerry Kramer in the first four rounds.

The latter three would earn induction to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, as integral members of the multiple championships in the Vince Lombardi era.

Taylor went on to post numerous team records, including most rushing yards in a single season (1,474 in 1962, leading the league) and in a career (8,207). Both records would stand for more than 40 years. He also garnered game MVP honors in the 1965 NFL Championship, a distinction Nitschke earned in the title game three years earlier. Nitschke was the only linebacker chosen for the NFL’s 50th anniversary team, and he became the fourth Packers player to have his uniform number (66) retired, in 1983. Kramer, also named to the league’s 50th anniversary team, would end up waiting 50 years after his retirement in 1968 to finally be selected for the Hall of Fame, getting voted in as a senior committee nominee in 2018.