Moment 82 Trophy Title

Moment 82
Back to Moments
September 10, 1970

NFL Commissioner Pete Rozelle renames the league’s championship trophy in Vince Lombardi’s honor one week after the iconic coach’s death from cancer.

The trophy, produced at Tiffany & Co., is awarded to the Super Bowl champion each year, with the first two going to Lombardi’s Packers. It was first presented as the Vince Lombardi Trophy to the Baltimore Colts following their Super Bowl V victory over the Dallas Cowboys.

The trophy originally was presented to the winning team inside its locker room following the game. Since Super Bowl XXX, it has been presented on the field after the game. Beginning with Super Bowl XL, when two-time Super Bowl MVP Bart Starr presented the trophy to the winners, a former NFL player has made the presentation.

Green Bay’s fourth and most recent trophy, from Super Bowl XLV in Dallas, was presented by former Cowboys QB Roger Staubach.
Trophy Title
Photo credit: Matt Becker